Welcome to the churches of

The Dart & Avon Mission Community

THE DART AND AVON MISSION COMMUNITY consists of 7 Church of England churches in or near the Dart Valley
and the Avon Valley in South Devon

(See map below – but please note this only shows the church locations, not the parish boundaries)

We serve the two larger communities of Buckfastleigh (with St Luke’s Church) and South Brent (with St Petroc’s Church), together with the smaller communities of Dean Prior (St George the Martyr Church), Landscove (St Matthew’s Church), Littlehempston (St John the Baptist Church), Rattery (Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary) and Staverton (St Paul de Leon Church).

We work together, seeking to bear witness to Jesus as Saviour and Lord and to provide centres of worship, love and service for our local communities.
We aim to provide a warm welcome to all who come to our churches, and we hope this website will give all the information you need, whether you are resident in this area or a visitor from further afield.
For information about the individual churches, please see the page on this site for each one.

During the pandemic

Funerals – sadly deaths are occurring, whether from Covid-19 or from other causes. There are limits on the number of mourners allowed to attend the funeral service, and contact with clergy prior to the service may be limited in the number of people who can be involved. But various arrangements are in place and funeral services are still being held. Contact Rev Tom Benson on 07730575312 (Buckfastleigh, Dean Prior, Staverton, Landscove & Littlehempston) or Rev Gina Radford (South Brent and Rattery) on 07903400480 for support and help in your time of loss.

Weddings – there are regulations regarding numbers attending, but weddings can take place, so do talk with the clergy about what is possible.

Financial support for our churches and for Devon Historic Churches Trust – the pandemic has hit the finances of all our churches hard and we would value any support you can give. Some of the church pages include opportunity to give online. You might also like to look at a video from Devon Historic Churches Trust here.